Senate 2019: Abak Division Dares Akpabio … As Ekarika Emerges ADDA Chairman, Ekperikpe Ekpo Declares For Senate


By UbongAbasi Ise

Political gladiators in Abak Division are set for an epic combat with the senate minority leader, Senator Godswill Akpabio, vowing to replace him in the Red Chambers with a representative from Abak Federal Constituency.
In an enlarged extraordinary meeting and the election of a 19-man executive of Abak Division Development Association, ADDA, which took place in Uyo recently, the former Akwa Ibom State Commissioner for Health and Works, Dr Udoma Bob Ekarika, who emerged as the group’s Chairman, said 2019 would be the right time for Abak Federal Constituency to produce the next Senator for Akwa Ibom Northwest Senatorial District.
“Come 2019, Abak Federal Constituency must produce the next Senator for Ikot Ekpene Senatorial district, while ADDA will ensure mass mobilisation to ensure the group produces the two federal constituency members and four House of Assembly seats of Abak Division to drive the much needed political revolution and put an end to the age long marginalization of the zone”, he said.
He lauded the free conduct of the election, stating that the non- existence of dissenting voice after the outcome of the election is an indication that the next three years will witness significant turnaround in the life of ADDA. He promised to carry the body cross over the “Red Sea” come 2019.
Also speaking, the immediate past Chairman of ADDA, Obong Ekperikpe Ekpo, while thanking the election committee for a job well done, said he is of strong conviction that ADDA will help produce a Senator, a Governor, and other elected officers come 2019.
Ekpo announced his intention to run for the Senate on the platform of APC, soliciting support from all ADDA stakeholders.
In his remark, the Akwa Ibom State APC Chairman, Dr. Amadu Attai, called for unity and support to the new ADDA executive and declared that the 2019 Senate ticket is open to all eligible aspirants from Abak Federal Constituency, while welcoming other aspirants to feel free to come out and contest, adding that “at the right time, Abak 5 shall sit on a roundtable and decide on a candidate that will be our choice for the Senate.”
Meanwhile the election zoning committee had members drawn from the five Local Government Areas of ADDA. They include Mr. Uwem Udoma as Chairman representing Abak LGA, Mr. Charles Udoetuk representing Etim Ekpo LGA, Mr Dominic Udontuk representing Ika LGA, Miss Jennifer Uduak Udo representing Ukanafun and Jobsine Ekoriku representing Oruk Anam LGA.



18 − 4 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.