Oil And Gas Free Zone Implementation Committee Set Up In AK



A six member Joint Committee on the implementation of Oil and Gas Free Zone has been set up in Akwa Ibom State.

The Committee has Commissioner for Investment, Commerce and Industry, Professor Eno Akpan, Chairman Technical Committee on Foreign Direct Investment, Mr Gabriel Ukpe and Senior Special Assistant to the Governor on Technical Matters and Due process Engr Uffot Ebong as members on the part of Government while the Oil and Gas Free Zones Authority is represented by the Head of Legal Services, Barrister Sule wasiu, Head of Operations, Mr Adekunle Ajayi and Head of Trade And Investment Adamu Kontagara.

The Committee was established following a meeting between the Managing Director, Oil And Gas Free Zones Authority, Mr Umanah Okon Umana and Akwa Ibom State Governor, Mr Udom Emmanuel at Government House, Uyo.

Governor Emmanuel who congratulated Mr Umana for his appointment as Managing Director of the Free Trade Zones Authority commended him for commencing the tour of the Zones from Akwa Ibom and pointed out that the project would boost the industrialization agenda of his administration by creating employment, and generating wealth for the people.

He said “Akwa Ibom being one of the major producer of Oil deserves to be a beneficiary of the project” and assured that his administration would provide the necessary logistics that would facilitate the realization of the project.

He acknowledged the condolences from Mr Umanah over the tragic incidence of Reigners Bible Church building collapse and described him as a brother and friend.



1 × four =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.